Dangerous goods are substances, objects, solutions, mixtures, preparations, and wastes that present a risk for health, safety, goods or the environment.

Depending on the risk they pose, they are classified into different classes of dangerous goods. Further, they are assigned a four-digit number, the so-called UN-Number, or UN-ID, in order to classify them further.

The classes of dangerous goods are the following:

  1. Explosives
  2. Gases
  3. Flammable Liquids
  4. Flammable Solids
  5. Oxidizing Substances
  6. Toxic & Infectious Substances
  7. Radioactive Material
  8. Corrosives
  9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

For example, UN 1350 would classify Sulfur, which belongs to the Class 4: "Flammable Solids".

When shipping dangerous goods by sea it is necessary not only to placard and mark each single package but it is necessary to correctly placard also the unit of transport, as for example the container.

Overview of Hazard labels:

Did this answer your question?